Dressmaking / Fashion / New Look Pattern Pojects / Sewing / Skirts / Style

New Look 6311 – Bias Cut Circle Skirt

New Look  6311_Front 3

Happy New Year!

I haven’t done any sewing in a while so I thought I’d ease myselft back in with a simple pattern like New Look 6311. It’s a circle skirt cut on the bias and it’s very easy to make.

New Look 6311

I made view ‘B’ – which falls just on the knee – in a grey tweed blend. Originally I planned to make view ‘A’ but then I couldn’t bring myself to buy 4 meters fabric just for one skirt. Maybe I’ll make the maxi version for summer 2015 🙂

Be warned, this pattern requires a lot of fabric as the skirt is cut crosswire. And also the sizing is very generous. I made a toil (in some unwanted fabric) in a size 14 and it literally fell off me! For the final versionI cut a size 12 and I stil have space to eat, breathe and sit down, which for me is always a good thing. The waistband sits just on my belly button when I’m standing up, but when I sit down it rides up a bit, Simon Cowell Style, but this is fine with me.

New Look  6311_Back

Back View

New Look  6311_Side

Side View

So there’s nothing really complicated about putting this skirt together, you simply sew the sides and waistband then you have to leave it to hang over night before hemming. All common sense really. The only extra thing I did was add a lining in some inexpensive anti-static polyester fabric.

New Look  6311_lining

lining

New Look  6311_Side Zip

Invisible-ish Zip

Oh, and the hemming took ages! I recommend dedicating one day for this, as you will need to finish/overlock the edges,  mark up and iron  the hem, before actually sewing the hem on the skirt. And the lining too. And remember this is a cirle skirt so your foot will be on the pedal for a while.

But it’s all worth it as you will be the proud owner of a lovely swishy skirt that you can twirl around in when nobody is around 🙂

I’m really happy with how mine turned out and I plan to make another one very soon. Well as soon as I save up for some more fabric

New Look  6311_Front 5

One thought on “New Look 6311 – Bias Cut Circle Skirt

Leave a comment