Burda Style Pattern Projects / Dressmaking / Fashion / Sewing / Skirts / Style

Burda Style 6836 – Semi Fitted Skirt

Burda 6836

Hello, I’m back again with another easy-sew skirt, but I promise this will be my last skirt for a while. My new year’s resolution is to challenge myself  and come out of my comfort zone. But for now here is my version of Burda Style 6836.

Burda 6836_Front

It’s  a loose-fitting pencil skirt which can be made in two lengths, with either a thin or thick waistband. I made length B with waistband A as thin waistbands don’t work for me.

I cut a size 14 as Burda Style patterns do come up quite small. Well that’s what I tell myself anyway 🙂

The fabric used is a wool blend. In fact it’s the same fabric I used for New Look 6023. It’s smooth on the outside, warm on the inside and very lightweight.

Construction wise it was very straight forward. There are side pleats at the front and back which give the skirt some shaping. The fiddly part was marking the pleats, pinning them and remembering to press them in the right direction. This sounds simple enough but the pleats are very close together so there were a lot of pins to manoeuvre under the presser foot, but luckily no needles were broken 🙂

Burda 6836_Close Up

Front pleats and high waistband

Burda 6836_Back

Back pleats and invisible zip

I recommend measuring and pressing the waistband edge before attaching to the skirt, as it requires ‘stitching in the ditch’. My inner waistband edge was pressed up too short, so that when I tried to stitch in the ditch, the threads didn’t catch the waistband 😦  I tried to re-press it but I had already cut away too much fabric. So instead I stitched on some bias tape to lengthen the edge and this worked out just fine 🙂

Burda 6836_inside out back

inside view – back

Burda 6836_inside out front

Inside view – back

I wish I had added a lining as the skirt tends to cling to my tights. I may hand-sew one in retrospectively if I’m really bored one day, but for now life goes on.

So yes, I totally recommend this skirt and I would make it again. I would definitely add a lining and would probably go for the shorter length. The next time I’ll make this skirt will be most likely in the Spring time.

2 thoughts on “Burda Style 6836 – Semi Fitted Skirt

Leave a comment